PM-Vidyalaxmi
Common abbreviation: PM-VidyalaxmiEducation loans for eligible QHEI students plus conditional interest subvention; income conditions apply to specified subsidy components.
Loading page
Education loans for eligible QHEI students plus conditional interest subvention; income conditions apply to specified subsidy components.
The official scheme portal FAQ describes PM-Vidyalaxmi as a collateral-free, guarantor-free education-loan product for meritorious students admitted to eligible Quality Higher Education Institutions (QHEIs); management-quota admissions are excluded. The official portal FAQ describes 3% interest subvention during the moratorium for eligible students with annual family income up to ₹8 lakh, on loan principal up to ₹10 lakh, subject to a one-lakh-student limit and priority rules. It describes full interest subvention under the applicable CSIS for qualifying students with annual family income up to ₹4.5 lakh. A Ministry notice dated 8 August 2025 added QHEIs, taking its stated list from 860 to 902. Income thresholds are conditional subsidy criteria, not general loan eligibility limits. Current subsidy-year intake and claim dates were not verified.
Scheme status: active. Application window: unknown.
Portal is operational and describes application functions, but no current 2026–27 subsidy window/deadline was verified. FAQ references 2025–26 disbursals only.
Collateral-free and guarantor-free education loan for eligible students admitted on merit to a covered QHEI; loan amount and sanction remain subject to lender assessment and scheme rules.
Loan amount determined by lender; no general amount cap stated in reviewed FAQ (As sanctioned by lending bank)
The portal FAQ states 3% interest subvention during the moratorium period on education-loan principal up to ₹10 lakh, subject to a limit of one lakh students and selection priorities.
3% interest subvention on loan principal up to ₹10 lakh (During moratorium; subject to annual claim and scheme conditions)
The FAQ describes a Government credit guarantee through NCGTC for eligible education loans up to ₹7.5 lakh; this is a guarantee to the lending institution, not a direct cash payment to the student.
75% Government credit guarantee on eligible loans up to ₹7.5 lakh (For eligible loan exposure)
Merit admission to eligible QHEI, collateral-free/guarantor-free loan, management quota exclusion
Official scheme portal FAQ (guideline PDF title dated 2024-11-19 was observed but PDF content was inaccessible)Document date: not stated; reviewed: 2026-10-04.
3% moratorium interest subvention for eligible family income up to ₹8 lakh on principal up to ₹10 lakh; one-lakh cap and priority
Official PM-Vidyalaxmi portal FAQ, scheme features and selection FAQDocument date: FAQ page date not stated; references loan disbursement 2025-04-01 to 2026-03-31; reviewed: 2026-10-04.
Document requirements and application flow; select up to three banks
Official PM-Vidyalaxmi portal FAQ and student signup portalDocument date: FAQ page date not stated; reviewed: 2026-10-04.
QHEI list expansion from 860 to 902
Ministry of Education notice F. No. 34-1/2024-CSISDocument date: 2025-08-08; reviewed: 2026-10-04.
The Ministry guidelines describe students admitted on merit to an eligible QHEI; management-quota admission is excluded. Loan sanction remains subject to lender assessment and scheme rules.
No universal loan income ceiling is stated in the reviewed FAQ. Annual family income up to ₹8 lakh is a condition for the specific 3% interest-subvention component, not a general loan eligibility ceiling.
The reviewed FAQ describes a past loan-disbursal period ending 31 March 2026 and does not verify a later cycle. Check the official portal for current dates.